4 Hour Tarmac Rule Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4 Hour Tarmac Rule Question

Let's say there's a delay on departure, with the aircraft loaded but remaining at the gate, door open, jetway attached. Could the 4 hour interval be reset if the passengers were, after a few hours, allowed to exit the aircraft to use the terminal loos and then clamber back on board after 15 -20 mins. I'm not asking if the logistics are something an airline would undertake, just the legal question about resetting the tarmac rule time period in this scenario.

I'm no expert, but I don't think the 4 hour rule starts until the aircraft is pushed back.
    Last edited by Bruce Gorrell; 10-13-2018, 19:09. Reason: DYAC

Comment

Originally posted by Bruce Gorrell View Post
      I'm no expert, but I don't think the 4 hour rule starts until the aircraft is pushed back.
      Thanks,Bruce.

Comment

Originally posted by Scott Dyer HPN/NY View Post
        Let's say
        Scott, had it happen to me exactly that way once! Only problem is - jsut cannot seem to recall now much about the details re what'd happend or was said. This coming Tuesday morning is our twice monthly retired Duck's breaakfast and I'll ask if anyone there knows/recalls.

best, randy

Comment

Originally posted by Randy Sohn View Post
          Scott, had it happen to me exactly that way once! Only problem is - jsut cannot seem to recall now much about the details re what'd happend or was said. This coming Tuesday morning is our twice monthly retired Duck's breaakfast and I'll ask if anyone there knows/recalls.

best, randy
          Do let me know, Randy. Thanks.

Comment

It's a three-hour rule for domestic flights. Four-hours for international flights.

The timer doesn't start until the main cabin door is closed.

The timer is reset if the door is reopened and egress is offered. If egress is offered, the opportunity to egress must be mentioned in each PA announcement.

Comment